rsullivan.next@gmail.com
 

New for 2017-2018!

Updated September 20, 2017

"Although, FISD will no longer provide financial support for DI for the 2017-2018 school year, FISD continues to value the DI program. All registration, supplies and travel will be funded outside FISD. During this transition year, FISD will continue to provide a campus DI coordinator." - Frisco ISD

  • Official Release from FISD to Parents
  • FISD teams will be individually responsible for cost of program materials, registration and tournament fees, and travel expenses.
  • Teams can have non-FISD students. In these cases, the team should register their District/School as "Independent." If all team members are from FISD, list your school and FISD when you register.
  • Find information about Choosing your Challenge here
  • Find information about Team Registration here

How much does it cost?

See estimated costs here.

How do I get my child on a DI team?

Ask your campus coordinator if there is already a program at your school. Please reference the chart on this page to find your campus coordinator. If you don't see your school on the list, contact your principal or Quest teacher to find out who the campus coordinator is.

If your school doesn't have a DI program yet, consider hosting an awareness meeting and inviting parents and students to come learn more about Destination Imagination.  The best way to guarantee your child is on a DI team is to start a team!

Does my child need to be in QUEST to do DI?

No! Though Destination Imagination is excellent enrichment for Gifted and Talented students, students of varying ability levels and talents participate, grow, and succeed in the program.  In Frisco ISD, Destination Imagination is open to any current Frisco student. 

How may people can be on the team?

Teams may have 2 - 7 members. 

 

Who can be on the team?

Teams can have students from multiple FISD schools. Members can be in the same grade or different grades, but teams will compete at the level of the oldest team member (see the Rules of the Road for more information). All team members do not have be current Frisco ISD students. If non-FISD students are also on the team, please register the District/School as "Independent."

Who will run the team?

In Frisco, Destination Imagination teams are parent led.  The NExT region offers a comprehensive training program to teach and guide you and your team through the DI season.  The person who leads a Destination Imagination team is called a Team Manager.

What are the FISD requirements to manage a team? 

Team Managers must submit a FISD background check through their child's campus.  Even though most DI teams meet off campus, the teams are affiliated with their FISD school.  

Where will the team meet?

In Frisco, teams meet outside of school.  Because teams only have 2-7 members, teams usually meet in homes.  Team parents and the team manager will work together to decide on the location and meeting frequency.

How much time does this take?

The time commitment varies widely by team age, experience level, and dedication. Team choose when and where they meet.  Most teams meet once a week early in the season, and add extra meetings as the tournament approaches.  School holidays are a great time for teams to meet and get a lot of work done on a Challenge Solution.  

How do I get a team number, copies of the Challenges, and program materials?

Follow the registration steps here. Find out how to get your digital copies here.

Then what?

Be sure and let your Campus Coordinator know that you have a team participating in DI.

 

Awareness meetings are open to all Frisco ISD students! To request a school awareness meeting, contact your campus coordinator.

Monday, September 25th from 6:45-7:15pm

  • at Carroll E.S. (hosted by west side campuses)

Tuesday, September 26th at 6:00pm

  • at Gunstream E.S. (co-hosted by Shawnee Trail and Christie)

Thursday, October 5th at 6:00pm

  • at Norris E.S. (co-hosted by Ashley, Isbel, Ogle, Sonntag, and Nelson M.S.)
 

The NExT Region offers many training opportunities for team managers.   Visit our regional calendar to view upcoming events and sign up today!

 

A campus coordinator (usually the QUEST teacher at your school) is your go-to person for information about Destination Imagination at your school.  They will help you schedule or plug into an awareness meeting, answer questions, and may help with team formation at your school.  Though they do not usually manage teams, they are your first stop in the team formation process.

Don't see your school listed below? Contact your principal, your school's QUEST teacher or Elizabeth Evans (the official Frisco ISD DI contact) at friscotexasdi@gmail.com.

2017-2018
SchoolCampus CoordinatorCC Email
Allen ElementaryMarissa Bunnbunnm@friscoisd.org
Anderson ElementaryKeley Wiltonwiltonk@friscoisd.org
Ashley ElementaryApril Falterfaltera@friscoisd.org
Bledsoe ElementaryKatie Robinsonrobinsonk@friscoisd.org
Boals Elementary Cindy Stubbs stubbsci@friscoisd.org
Borchardt ElementaryLynn Pricepricel@friscoisd.org
Bright ElementaryKate McNeillMcneillk@friscoisd.org
Carroll ElementaryAmy Smithsmitha@friscoisd.org
Christie ElementaryHeather Gunngunnh@friscoisd.org
Clark Middle SchoolMichael SimpsonsimpsoMi@friscoisd.org
Comstock ElementaryStaci BorynacBorynacS@friscoisd.org
Corbell ElementarySherie(Jennifer) MearesMearesJ@friscoisd.org
Curtsinger ElementaryJessica Rexrexj@friscoisd.org
Elliot ElementaryAmy Mestayermestayea@friscoisd.org
Fisher ElementaryMeredith McBrayerMcbrayerM@friscoisd.org
Fowler Middle SchoolRene MaddenMaddenR@friscoisd.org
Gunstream ElementaryHeather Gunn gunnh@friscoisd.org
Hosp ElementaryWendy Tamneytamneyw@friscoisd.org
Hunt Middle SchoolErin JewellJewellE@friscoisd.org
Isbell ElementaryLaura Nagynagyl@friscoisd.org
Maus Middle SchoolCharlotte Caskey and Brittany MaddenCaskeyC@friscoisd.org
McSpedden Elementary SchoolKelsey Merollamerollak@friscoisd.org
Mooneyham ElementaryShannon StraderStraderS@friscoisd.org
Nelson Middle SchoolBeth Nyenyee@friscoisd.org
Newman ElementaryAmy Smithsmitha@friscoisd.org
Nichols ElementaryJennifer SchellSchellJ@friscoisd.org
Norris ElementaryLaura Newellnewelll@friscoisd.org
Ogle ElementaryKaylin Walkerwalkerk@friscoisd.org
Phillips ElementaryMeredith McBrayerMcbrayerM@friscoisd.org
Pink Elementary Misty Lewinlewinm@friscoisd.org
Pioneer Heritage Middle SchoolKeleigh Linebrinkcomptonk@friscoisd.org
Purefoy ElementarySherie Mearesmearesj@friscoisd.org
Reedy High SchoolAnum Jiwanijiwania@friscoisd.org
Riddle ElementaryJanis KirkpatrickKirkpatJ@friscoisd.org
Roach Middle SchoolLindsay Fryar fryarl@friscoisd.org
Robertson ElementaryCindy Stubbsstubbsci@friscoisd.org
Rogers ElementaryMelissa Dingerdingerm@friscoisd.org
Scott ElementaryLauren Boydboydlau@friscoisd.org
Sem ElementaryMelinda ManleyManleym@friscoisd.org
Shawnee Trail ElementaryTricia Beckbeckt@friscoisd.org
Smith ElementaryElizabeth Evansevanse@friscoisd.org
Sonntag ElementaryCasey Gordongordonca@friscoisd.org
Sparks ElementaryErin Endorfendorfe@friscoisd.org
Spears ElementaryMarissa Bunnbunnm@friscoisd.org
Staley MIddle SchoolJamie Jamesjamesja@friscoisd.org
Tadlock ElementaryMisty Lewinlewinm@friscoisd.org
Taylor ElementaryDeborah Saathoffsaathoffd@friscoisd.org
Trent Middle SchoolStacy Tomatomas@friscoisd.org
Vandeventer Middle SchoolJill LealLealj@friscoisd.org
Vaughn ElementaryMelissa Dingerdingerm@friscoisd.org